Skip to content

“The Intruding Light”

October 8, 2010

The Intruding Light, linocut, 26x33cm

There are many studies behind a single piece of work. I have selected only a few here to show the process, the constant adaptation of an idea that originally is only just a scribble. I made that first scribble on a train, when I had too much time to kill, and this is how it developed some month later, when I decided to use it.

I do not do many linocuts but it is a big passion of mine, I enjoy engaging with this technique when I want to rest from painting. It gives me another way of thinking, I have to adapt my subjects to another type of imagery, with a different  scenario, composition, scale, lighting, contrast, in comparison with my paintings. Creating forms, giving the illusion of depth by just cutting white lines against a black surface is also a very different challenge from painting with colours.

At the end all comes together, although they are quite different techniques, I notice how my printmaking feeds and enriches my painting as well as my painting feeds my printmaking.

I print photocopies of the final drawing to make various studies for the direction of the lines that I believe will give a better illusion of the forms when cutting on the final linoleo

This is the final drawing

Some studies: in the beginning there was a third person in the composition

My first rough sketch

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2015 09:13

    Hi Michele,
    Thank you so much for sharing your process and working drawings. I’m new to printmaking but I have to complete a linocut over the next month for my tertiary studies. I really like your approach!
    Cheers,
    Carla

  2. April 8, 2015 09:46

    Hi Carla, it’s always nice to see that my approach to art can be inspiring to other artists, thank you for your message and I hope to see how your linocut comes out when it’s ready!

Leave a Reply

