Skip to content

I start my project “Journey of no Return”

January 1, 2011

Maria, Jesús, Andrej and Félix prepare for the photographic shooting in the tunnel

Finally I have begun to convert my sketches and ideas into photos that will be my main reference for my next painting project which, with many probabilities, is going to be named “Journey of no Return“. After several months of thinking, doubting, processing raw ideas on paper, reading, looking at new references, experiencing real-life situations, I have come up with this new solo exhibition project which will show a darker side of the reality, in comparison with my previous paintings.

For a couple of paintings I had to look for a disused rail tunnel to use as background and, after a long research, I found just what I was looking for. It was a challenge to overcome the bourocratic obstacles that I found on my way everywhere I asked for information, help or permissions. I understood that I had to do it all by myself and try my luck. I researched, traveled, spotted the railway tunnels and found the prohibited way in: it was impressive, a tunnel filtered by the light through a series of magnificent arches.

It requiered a dose of courage and daring to organise the shooting there. I arranged everything the same day (and night…) that I found the tunnels, also thanks to the help and availability of four good friends who would be my models the next day. It was a greatly enjoyable experience for all of us and I was amazed at how they all took the shooting so seriously, also challenging the weather in one of the coldest days of the year. Three of them had no previous experience before a camera but I could not have found better “actors” to stage what my sketches only vaguely suggested.

one of the ideas that I sketched before the photographic session

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jakopo permalink
    January 4, 2011 06:41

    splendid narration

Trackbacks

  1. Sesión con Michele del Campo « Asturiano en londres…

Leave a Reply

