Skip to content

Trip to Valencia

January 23, 2011

Me in front of a wonderful sky in a dunes beach near Valencia. Photo by Amparo Tarazona

For my new project “Journey of no Return” I had a particular scene in my mind, inspired by a dunes beach near Valencia and I flew all the way to there to gather reference material. In the beginning of January the sun was quite bright and the temperature higher than 20º! What a treat for someone coming from freezing  London! However pleasurable, what I needed was actually a grey, wintery setting, but luckily, towards the end of the day, colourful dark clouds would float about in the sky, giving it a little of that dramatic appearance that I was after.

One of the sketched ideas before my photographic shooting in the dunes, a bicycle abandoned in a dusky, grey dunes beach.

In the following days I took several walks in the city to find interesting locations for some shoots. I saw a bridge and I halted to fantasise about a group of young people under it, half visible in the shadow and some of them disappearing under the beams. I soon phoned Carles, a very nice friend of mine who has loads of friends in Valencia. He was very pleased to help me and assumed all the weight of the organisation for me, phoning friends to check immediate availability and telling them what was needed for the shooting. I wanted at least four people to pose but at the end seven people turned up and were very happy to pose. It was not that easy and nice for some of them, who had to climb up to the beams by a ladder which was not long enough to make the task easy. Big thanks to all of them, particularly to Carles, for giving me their time.

One of the sketches for the bridge scene

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jack purvis permalink
    January 23, 2011 05:43

    Thank you for sharing Michele

Leave a Reply

