Skip to content

“La pelea”, the process

April 27, 2011

One of the sketched ideas that I drew before the photo shooting

My paintings have a complex construction most of the times and here I show an example of how I use my reference material to convey the visual idea that I originally have in mind. Sketches are the first and most important stage of the creative process, they are a dialectic research inside one’s own resorces. Sketches do not only fix visual thoughts on a permanent support but also catalize their development from the stage of an abstract concept.

Photography is the following stage, the skecthes become now my guide towards a richer source of reference. Nevertheless, photography also contributes to develop further the initial idea, as they confront one with reality, which has to be tackled with a more adaptive approach.

The next stage is working out the composition through a rough elaboration of the photographic references, which can be many and from various sessions.

Finally I take the brushes for the real painting. Here I re-interpret and re-adjust the information that I extract from my rough photographic composition giving it the intention that comes from my original idea. I can also change completely the appearance of some character if I need (in this painting, for example, the central character, the guy that struggles to start the fight, appears also on the right hand side, leaning against the wall, but I changed his appearance).

"La pelea", oil on linen, 160x400cm (diptych)

This is the original reference material

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 02:53

    Thank you for the detail and the completed work.
    My congratulations. Great narrative

  2. May 29, 2012 00:47

    Absolutely gorgeous. Did you have that tunnel in mind when you did the sketch?

Leave a Reply

