Skip to content

Video animation after “Viaje de no retorno”

January 4, 2012

I did not know what had been of that idea that lit up Antonio’s eyes when he saw my sketchbooks for the “Viaje de no retorno” exhibition.  He asked me to scan some of my sketchbook pages and to give him all the material related to my exhibition in order to make a video animation. Antonio Dinapoli is a video editor and motion graphics artist and also a very good friend of mine. I met him in London but we share the same origin in Puglia, a southern Italian region.

He told me with enthusiasm about contemporary techniques of creative videos called “Motion Graphics”, but I did not understand how it would look like with my work until several weeks later, when he showed me this video. The sketches, texts and photos overlap, fluctuate and merge to tell the creative process and generate the final paintings, while the sounds, sampled from the real world, accompany the images and help the narration. I think it is a wonderful work.

ESPAÑOL

Ya no sabía qué había sido de esa idea que tuvo Antonio y que le hizo brillar los ojos cuando, al ver mis cuadernos de dibujo para la exposición “Viaje de no retorno”, me los pidió escaneados para animarlos en un video. Antonio Dinapoli es un editor de videos muy buen amigo mio, nos conocimos hace unos años en Londres pero compartimos un origen común en las mismas tierras de Apulia, en el sur de Italia.

Me habló de técnicas de video creativo llamadas “motion graphics”, yo no sabía qué eran y tampoco me ayudaba a hacerme la idea lo que él con entusiasmo me decía que haría con esas imágenes extraidas de mis cuadernos, hasta que, tras alguna semana, me mostró este vídeo. Los bocetos, los textos y las fotos se sobreponen, flotan y se funden para generar los cuadros, mientras los sonidos extraidos directamente de la realidad acompañan las imágenes y favorecen la narración. Me parece un trabajo maravilloso.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

