Skip to content

A life portrait (part 1)

March 11, 2012

I do many sketches and drawings of people from life, but I usually do them in sketchbooks for the sheer pleasure or take them as exercises. In fact, the direction where my painting is heading towards lately, requires the use of photography as a reference, to enable me to structure an imaginary scene with the solidity of a plausible reality. If I painted portraits in the past, they were almost all based on reference pictures and I did not always care about the faithfulness of my painting to the sitters, I was not presenting that particular person but my idea of that person. Still, my training as a painter comes from a rigorous research from direct observation. I learned so much from my still-life paintings when I was younger, the perspective, the light, the textures, the reflection of the surfaces, the changeability of things with the passing of time, etc… All those discoveries are still with me and will always be. People, however, were another world, a too precarious one, material for sketchbooks, not canvases.

"Trasloco", 2002, the real setting and the painting

Now, while I still explore the possibilities of the imagination supported by the photography, I have taken the chance to confront the changeable and three-dimensional reality of a portrait on a big canvas. Jacqueline is posing for me, but I will talk about this portrait later on, when it is finished…

Jacqueline posing for my portrait

 

ESPAÑOL

Hago muchos bocetos y dibujos de personas del natural, pero lo hago simplemente por el placer de dibujar, dentro de mis cuadernos de dibujo, o por ejercicio. De hecho, la dirección que está tomando mi pintura últimamente requiere el uso de la fotografía como referencia, la cual me permite estructurar una escena imaginada con la solidez de la realidad plausible. Si en el pasado he pintado retratos, éstos eran casi siempre basados en referencias fotográficas, además no siempre me importaba la fealdad de mi pintura a la imagen del modelo, no intentaba hablar de esa persona en concreto, sino de mi idea de esa persona. Sin embargo, mi formación de pintor viene de un rigurosa investigación por observación directa. He aprendido muchísimo de mi pintura del natural de cuando era más joven, la perspectiva, la luz, la textura, el reflejo de las distintas superficies, el cambio de las cosas por el tiempo, etc… Todos esos descubrimientos todavía están bien grabados en mi y siempre lo estarán. Pero las personas eran otro mundo, demasiado precario, material de estudio para páginas de cuadernos, no lienzos.

Ahora, mientras sigo explorando las posibilidades de la imaginación unida a la fotografía, he aprovechado la ocasión para enfrentarme a la realidad para un retrato de gran formato. Jacqueline posa para este retrato, pero hablaré de ello cuando lo termine…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

