Skip to content

Studios in different cities: ideal, but where is the problem?

July 12, 2014
rolled-up-canvas-in-tube

Back in my London studio, now I have to re-stretch the canvas, which I transported rolled-up into a 16cm diameter plastic pipe with its original stretcher bars.

 

ENGLISH: I love working in my new studio in Valencia, even though I continue living, working and exhibiting in London. But there is a problem when one is working in two cities, how do you plan your painting in the second city in order to finish it in time and take it back with you in your main city? This puts some pressure on me, as I never like to be forced by the events to leave a painting unfinished and then go back to it after several weeks. In fact I have abandoned various promising paintings because i did not finish them when i had the inspiration for them. Therefore my paintings in Valencia must be planned according to the time that I have available, but here is the problem: art is not a science, and I find it impossible to predict how much time I need to finish a painting! In fact my efficiency is very variable and I am amazed at my speed in rendering certain things that in the beginning looked difficult, and, in contrast, my slowness in painting other things that looked quite easy to do (and many times it depends on the day…).

Said this, I am proud of how I managed my time in this occasion in Valencia, as I finished a quite laborious painting and managed to bring it back with me yesterday, in the flight to London. I owe a big part of the achievement to the “Liquin” medium (Winsor and Newton), which speeds up the drying process of oils, so I could roll up the canvas into a tube without problem. This painting will be exhibited in Art in Action, Oxford next week, during my four-days painting demonstration. I hope that you will find the time to come along and enjoy the fair!

 

ESPAÑOL: Me encanta trabajar en mi nuevo estudio de Valencia, aunque siga viviendo y exponiendo en Londres. Pero hay un problema cuando se trabaja en dos ciudades, y es cómo planificar la pintura para que, durante los días de estancia en una ciudad, puedas terminar la obra que hayas empezado para podértela llevar luego contigo en la otra ciudad. Esto me pone un poco de presión, porque nunca me gusta dejar un cuadro a medio acabar y luego volver a ponerme tras una pausa de varias semanas. De hecho, he abandonado varios cuadros que prometían bien, por no haberlos acabado cuando tenía la inspiración para esa pieza. De esta manera, mis cuadros en Valencia tienen que ser planificados según el tiempo que tengo a disposición, pero el arte no es una ciencia y encuentro imposible predecir cuánto tiempo necesito para acabar una obra, de hecho mi rendimiento es muy variable y me asombra mi velocidad en pintar ciertas cosas que parecían difíciles y, en contraste, mi lentitud para pintar otras que parecían faciles (y muchas veces depende de cómo me siento cada día…).

Dicho esto, estoy orgulloso de cómo he sabido gestionar esta vez mi tiempo en Valencia para acabar a tiempo mi última obra y poderme llevar el lienzo, ya parcialmente seco (gracias al milagroso medium de secado rápido “Liquin“, de Winsor and Newton), conmigo en el avión para Inglaterra, donde lo expondré en Oxford la próxima semana durante la feria Art in Action.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

