Skip to content

The creative process, 3

July 31, 2014

ENGLISH: If you have been reading my last two posts, you know by now that a realist painting can be the realisation of a complex process of immagination mixed with intention.  Here goes another example. I took photos to people that I met in the street and invited to pose for me and I found the landscape picture looking through internet, as well as the pictures of each crows.

 

ESPAÑOL: Si has estado siguiendo mis últimos dos posts acerca de mi proceso creativo, sabrás  que una pintura realista puede ser el resultado creativo de un proceso muy complejo de imaginación mixta a intención. Aquí va otro ejemplo. Tomé fotos a personas que encontré en la calle, y que invité a posar para mi. La foto del paisaje la encontré buscando en internet, así hice también para cada uno de los cuervos.

the-coming-storm,-process-with-sketch

The original pictures, the sketched composition and the final painting “The Coming Storm”

"The Coming Storm", 2010, oil on linen, 100x150cm

“The Coming Storm”, 2010, oil on linen, 100x150cm

 

_MG_5135

I traced a pencil cross on the canvas to know where more or less each figure had to go, according to a composite image that I made in Photoshop, using all the photos. I don’t like to square up too much, as then my interpretation of the form would feel too rigid.

_MG_5196

The real image comes out from my painting, the drawing was just a rough guidline

2010-Artists-and-Illustrators-my-studio

Me painting “The Coming Storm”, photo by Steve Pill for the Artists and Illustrators magazine.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mphunter permalink
    November 6, 2015 15:43

    I’m curious about the bicycle. Did you mask it with masking tape while you worked on the background or did you redraw the bicycle over the field and man? I work digitally so this complication isn’t a problem, I just keep the lines above my painting and can turn them on or off but they never get lost under the paint. (http://michael-hunter.deviantart.com/gallery/)

    • November 6, 2015 22:50

      I paint the background first, it doesn’t matter if the drawing lines are lost, a little or completely, as then I can paint them on the top of the background. In my opinion things don’t need to be too precise in the final painting but convincing overall.

Leave a Reply

