Skip to content

A short video to show my “alla prima” painting technique

January 19, 2015

ENGLISH: There is nothing better than a video to show the process of painting with oils. My technique is “alla prima”, so I concentrate on a certain area of a painting and I finish it while it is still wet, generally in the same day. The video of this painting, “The Reading” (150x200cm), which I partially made during my demonstration in Art in Action, concentrates especially on the portraits of the two girls. I had no underlying drawing for these faces, but, as you will see, I represented them improvising directly in painting. This method allows me a more intuitive approach and a more personal interpretation. For a written account of the whole process you can read the Artists and Illustrators magazine, February 2015 issue.

ESPAÑOL: No hay mejor manera para mostrar mi técnica de pintura al óleo que a través de un video. Mi técnica es “alla prima”, es decir, me concentro en ciertas áreas del cuadro y las acabo mientras estén mojadas, normalmente en el mismo día. El vídeo se concentra especialmente en las fases del retrato de las dos chicas en el cuadro “La lectura” (150x200cm), que hice en parte en mi demonstración en Art in Action. No tenía un dibujo para las caras, sino que, como verás, las pinté improvisando directamente en pintura, lo cual permite una aproximación más intuitiva y una interpretación más personal.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2015 13:32

    Hello Michele,

    I’m an artist from California, USA, who follows your blog. I certainly would like to watch the videos embedded in your blog posts but they appear to be blocked by Spanish authorities (SME) because of “copyright restrictions.”

    I thought you should be aware of this.

  2. January 24, 2015 19:23

    Thank you so much Ronald for letting me know, I was unaware about the restriction in US, it was for the music, which I have changed, this time it should work.

  3. January 24, 2015 19:55

    Yes, thank you, Michele. I watched and enjoyed seeing the alla prima process. I also enjoyed your posts which show your use of photography and digital tools in formulating your compositions. I sometimes use these methods also. Did you use a smartphone app or a DSLR camera to make your time lapse? It was very effective and solidly framed. Good work all around.

  4. January 24, 2015 20:49

    Thanks Ronald, I’m glad that you liked it, and also my posts on digital compositions. I used a good DSLR camera with no tripod, so I had to superimpose all the pictures one by one and save each layer as a single frame for the video. It took some time though! In the future I will use a proper time lapse device and a tripod.

Leave a Reply

