Skip to content

Third prize at “Pintar Rapido”, London

August 15, 2015
266

My finished painting at the moment of the handing in.

I have been so busy and lately on holidays that I haven’t posted news about my activity for a while. Trying to catch up, I will post my new paintings and news in several posts in the next days.

michele del campo, Pintar Rapido 2015

Painting in King’s Road, Chelsea, London.

First of all I would like to remember that wonderful day of urban plein air painting in July where at least 300 artists took the streets of London: it was Pintar Rápido competition, and we all managed to complete a whole painting in just one day! I choose to paint in King’s Road, the window shop of John Lewis-Peter Jones and the flowers that hang along that street. It is not a usual subject for me, but I enjoyed the challenge and I got to remain close to the Old Chelsea Town Hall, where all the paintings needed to be handed over by 7pm. My composition was very challenging but I managed to find the way to balance it, putting a figure closer to the viewer. This bigger figure was a mix of 2 girls to whom I asked to pose for me there and then. The problem with oils is that they don’t dry in the day, in fact the next day, hung in the exhibition, in the Chelsea Old Town Hall, my painting had several unintentional touches that blurred or deleted some small areas, coming either from the hanging process or from some unaware member of the public, often carrying racksacks or coates in their hands. However there was a beautiful surprise that day for me: my painting was given the third prize! There were some really good paintings around, and narrowing down to just a few prizes must have been a very difficult task for the jury. You can browse almost all of the works made in that day by clicking here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2015 00:16

    Congrats

  2. August 17, 2015 00:34

    Thanks Eric!

Leave a Reply

